We Are The Ones (album) – download


We Are The Ones’ is the debut solo album from Cambridge musician Gavin Chappell-Bates. This is a digital download of all tracks from the album.

It features 12 tracks, including previously released songs ‘95’, ‘We Are The Ones’ and ‘Black Holes’. Other tracks include the aggressive adolescent punk of ‘Church Of Rock ‘N’ Roll’, the bright upbeat pop of ‘Dead End Disco Streets’, the shining sentimental ballad of ‘Starlight’, and ‘Refugee’ – a Manics-esque epic tinged with loneliness and loss.

The album is the culmination of years of playing in bands, writing songs and gigging relentlessly. Friends, family and fans helped pick the final tracks to feature on the album. It was recorded and produced by James Coppolaro at Mix66 (Okiem Warmann, David Botrill, David Ellefson and Loretta Heywood) and features Rob Gibiaqui on drums (Sergey Lazarev, The Pinker Tones), Anna Scott on cello (Imogen Heap), Prue Ward on violin (The Willows) and the choir Full Score conducted by Ralph Woodward.

With hints of and nods to Manic Street Preachers, Feeder, The Pixies and Ash, ‘We Are The Ones’ captures Gavin’s unique style of effervescent emotive yin / yang indie-pop-rock. Mixing the energy of youth with the thoughtfulness of an older mind, ‘We Are The Ones’ is filled with anthems and sensitivity, with social and political commentary sitting alongside more personal moments.


You may also like…